Moms, don’t worry, we haven’t called 911 yet. We are keeping ourselves very safe!! But our drive to St. Louis was slightly eventful. And of course, with four girls who are all very excited and slightly delirious in the same car, things got a little over-dramatized. At least we kept ourselves entertained! Our gas gauge was nearing E and there were no gas stations in sight. So, we debated what we might do if we ran out of gas. We made a video (slightly obnoxious), but it won’t upload. Maybe its for your benefit. Anyways, here are our suggestions and comments:
-Can we call 911?
-No, they wouldn’t feel sorry for our stupidity.
-We could call AAA?
-Nope, same thing.
-We could just say the car broke down and we don’t know why. We kicked it and messed with it and it just wont start.
-That could work.
-Hitchhike!
-RIDE OUR BIKES!!
-Yes, perfect. Well Laurel would have to stay behind since Tommy has flat tires.
-We could lock you in the car. But don’t try to get out of the car or you might set of the car alarm. (Ha. We’ve already done that once.) Then your batteries would die!!
-Maybe we should turn off the air to save on gas.
-That messes with your aerodynamics!!
-I guess we’ll just have to call Mrs. Schlotz. (Mind you we are still 60 miles outside of St. Louis and we had yet to meet her at this point) This was TOTAL DESPERATION, but it was the one thing we kept going back to!!!
Luckily we survived our gas scare, and Anna McLean successfully navigated us through the crazy interstates of St. Louis. Garmin was trying to tell us to get off at exits that did not exist, but Anna McLean took it all in stride. We visited the St. Louis Zoo (fo free!!) and it was really neat! It was pretty hot so we didn’t see everything, but the lemurs and kangaroos (Laura) were our favorites! Then we had the fortunate experience of navigating the streets with Evie, which was quite an adventure. Evie has been packed to the gills since day one (more like since when I arrived) and the bike rack only added to it. We probably looked silly navigating around this chic area. Oh well. We FINALLY found a great restaurant near the Cardinals stadium and then we proceeded to the Arch. Which was closed. BUMMER. But we have been very go-with-the-flow this trip, so we did not let that slow us down. We just took pictures (duh!) beneath it instead! We still feel like we got the full Arch experience. In fact, we were just proud that we navigated our way there. Making it across two busy, four-lane roads (from the wrong lane) was quite the adventure.
No comments:
Post a Comment